Loans, guarantees, purchase commitments, grants and third-party investment are not interchangeable.
Compare the recorded instrument, gate, funding condition and routing lead. Expand an instrument for all requirements, limits, roles and sources. A routing lead is not a verified individual signatory.
Capital and industrial instruments — no combined readiness score
Required findings on defense essentiality, private-credit availability, cost effectiveness, repayment/security and interest unless statutory emergency exception applies
Advance credit-cost budget authority and statutory loan-principal limitation required; ordinary procurement money is not automatically credit subsidy authority.
Not general banking authority; applies to identified defense shortfalls
USD(A&S) and WIRE/IBAS program office
Full conditions, roles & sources · IND-02
Instrument & legal basis
The President may authorize a guaranteeing procurement agency to guarantee private-institution loans supporting essential defense production and services.
Required findings on defense essentiality, private-credit availability, cost effectiveness, repayment/security and interest unless statutory emergency exception applies
Applicant security generally at least 20% of loan
Large-shortfall notice and wait requirements
For the FY26 DPA Purchases appropriation, enacted text permits Secretary of Defense obligation/expenditure as if delegated necessary DPA authorities; do not treat an Executive Order as the independent substantive grant. Transaction-specific nondelegable findings and credit limits still require review.
Funding conditions
Advance credit-cost budget authority and statutory loan-principal limitation required; ordinary procurement money is not automatically credit subsidy authority.
FY26 enacted DPA Purchases: $321.923M no-year. This is appropriated program amount, NOT verified remaining balance or automatic credit-principal ceiling.
Limits & exclusions
Not general banking authority; applies to identified defense shortfalls
Anti-Deficiency Act retained
Most DPA authorities expire December 11, 2026 under §4564 as amended by Pub. L. 119-103; §4558 is excepted.
Assigned roles
Authority holder
President; designated guaranteeing agency
Approval
President / authorized statutory delegate; nondelegable findings retained where applicable
Recorded execution
Assigned DPA Title III executing office and warranted contracting officer; current assignment must be verified
Follow-through
USD(A&S) and WIRE/IBAS program office is the routing lead; current assignment must be verified. The recorded DPA executing role remains distinct from the IBAS program.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingScale documentedAdvance credit-cost budget authority and statutory loan-principal limitation required; ordinary procurement money is not automatically credit subsidy authority. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRemit sourcedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementRelated evidenceA closed 2026 mineral call contemplated DPA guarantees. Separately, EO 14241 delegates mineral-specific DPA powers to DFC; an operating guarantee intake or completed guarantee under that delegation was not verified. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Private financing not otherwise available on reasonable terms
Apply §4532(b)(2) national-emergency findings as written
Aggregate shortfall threshold notification or valid waiver
For the FY26 DPA Purchases appropriation, enacted text permits Secretary of Defense obligation/expenditure as if delegated necessary DPA authorities; do not treat an Executive Order as the independent substantive grant. Transaction-specific nondelegable findings and credit limits still require review.
Funding conditions
Specific advance credit authority and Federal Credit Reform/appropriations treatment must be confirmed; §4532 retains the Anti-Deficiency Act.
FY26 enacted DPA Purchases: $321.923M no-year. This is appropriated program amount, NOT verified remaining balance or automatic credit-principal ceiling.
Limits & exclusions
Loan terms and repayment assessment required
Not equity or unrestricted corporate rescue
Most DPA authorities expire December 11, 2026 under §4564 as amended by Pub. L. 119-103; §4558 is excepted.
Assigned roles
Authority holder
President or authorized delegate
Approval
President / authorized statutory delegate; nondelegable findings retained where applicable
Recorded execution
Assigned DPA Title III executing office and warranted contracting officer; current assignment must be verified
Follow-through
USD(A&S) and WIRE/IBAS program office is the routing lead; current assignment must be verified. The recorded DPA executing role remains distinct from the IBAS program.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingScale documentedSpecific advance credit authority and Federal Credit Reform/appropriations treatment must be confirmed; §4532 retains the Anti-Deficiency Act. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRemit sourcedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementUse documentedA $410 million Resilience loan executed in 2023 documents historical DPA lending. Its pandemic sourcing closure does not negate the separate 2025 DFC mineral delegation; the latter’s current intake was not verified. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Written essentiality, shortfall and cost-effectiveness determinations unless valid waiver
DPA Fund and advance appropriations; funds and allowable commitment liability must be present.
Commitments generally no more than 10 years
USD(A&S) and WIRE/IBAS program office
Full conditions, roles & sources · IND-04
Instrument & legal basis
Purchase industrial resources or critical technology items for use or resale, encourage mining, and support production or technology transition; conditioned subsidies can sustain threatened high-cost domestic material sources.
Written essentiality, shortfall and cost-effectiveness determinations unless valid waiver
Shortfall notices, >$50M threshold requirements and authorization/waiver analysis
Above-market or anticipated-loss purchases require further findings
For the FY26 DPA Purchases appropriation, enacted text permits Secretary of Defense obligation/expenditure as if delegated necessary DPA authorities; do not treat an Executive Order as the independent substantive grant. Transaction-specific nondelegable findings and credit limits still require review.
Funding conditions
DPA Fund and advance appropriations; funds and allowable commitment liability must be present.
FY26 enacted DPA Purchases: $321.923M no-year. This is appropriated program amount, NOT verified remaining balance or automatic credit-principal ceiling.
Limits & exclusions
Commitments generally no more than 10 years
DPA domestic-source eligibility is not worldwide: U.S./Canada and conditioned Australia/U.K. rule for Title III
Most DPA authorities expire December 11, 2026 under §4564 as amended by Pub. L. 119-103; §4558 is excepted.
Assigned roles
Authority holder
President; duly delegated execution with reserved findings
Approval
President / authorized statutory delegate; nondelegable findings retained where applicable
Recorded execution
Assigned DPA Title III executing office and warranted contracting officer; current assignment must be verified
Follow-through
USD(A&S) and WIRE/IBAS program office is the routing lead; current assignment must be verified. The recorded DPA executing role remains distinct from the IBAS program.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingScale documentedDPA Fund and advance appropriations; funds and allowable commitment liability must be present. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRemit sourcedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementProcess sourcedPublic sources provide two concrete DPA execution processes and expressly identify purchase commitments, but the general FOA is suspended/expired and the 2026 mineral call is closed. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Eligible entity and covered dual-use technology, not solely defense application
Advance appropriations specifically providing credit assistance; Federal Credit Reform cost and DoD Credit Program Account. A headline lending ceiling is not cash available.
Not an unrestricted equity fund.
Office of Strategic Capital
Full conditions, roles & sources · IND-08
Instrument & legal basis
Provide loans for eligible investments in enumerated covered technology categories; the legal form is capital assistance, not an unrestricted equity fund.
Eligible entity and covered dual-use technology, not solely defense application
At least 80% nonfederal capital for the specific technology at investment time
Creditworthiness, reasonable repayment assurance and selection criteria
Funding conditions
Advance appropriations specifically providing credit assistance; Federal Credit Reform cost and DoD Credit Program Account. A headline lending ceiling is not cash available.
Enacted FY26 credit appropriation $97.770M no-year with $4.390B principal ceiling. FY25 reconciliation separately supplied $500M minerals-focused and $1B general capital-assistance funding through Sep.30,2029, each with $100B principal ceiling. These are statutory amounts, not remaining balances; do not simply add ceilings into deployable cash.
Limits & exclusions
New loans and technical-assistance authority expire Oct. 1, 2028
Direct-loan term up to 50 years
Treasury benchmark interest and nonsubordination rules have specific waivers
Assigned roles
Authority holder
Secretary of Defense acting through OSC Director
Approval
Secretary of Defense and OSC Director as specified in §149
Recorded execution
OSC Director and credit transaction team
Follow-through
Institutional routing from the recorded executing role. See the office profile for its published responsibilities and engagement routes.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingScale documentedAdvance appropriations specifically providing credit assistance; Federal Credit Reform cost and DoD Credit Program Account. A headline lending ceiling is not cash available. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRemit sourcedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementMixed program statusTwo distinct OSC direct-loan routes are documented: closed initial equipment intake and published NSFF fund-manager intake. SBICCT is a separate SBA-supported private-fund route. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Specific credit subsidy and principal authority in appropriations; DoD Credit Program Account and Federal Credit Reform Act.
Enacted FY26 credit appropriation $97.770M no-year with $4.390B principal ceiling. FY25 reconciliation separately supplied $500M minerals-focused and $1B general capital-assistance funding through Sep.30,2029, each with $100B principal ceiling. These are statutory amounts, not remaining balances; do not simply add ceilings into deployable cash.
Limits & exclusions
No new guarantees after Oct. 1, 2028 absent extension
§149(d) 80% rule is expressly written for direct-loan investments, not a blanket guarantee percentage rule
Guarantee is not purchase of stock
Assigned roles
Authority holder
OSC Director, within Secretary of Defense program authority
Approval
Secretary of Defense and OSC Director as specified in §149
Recorded execution
OSC Director and credit transaction team
Follow-through
Institutional routing from the recorded executing role. See the office profile for its published responsibilities and engagement routes.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingScale documentedSpecific credit subsidy and principal authority in appropriations; DoD Credit Program Account and Federal Credit Reform Act. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRemit sourcedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementIntake unverifiedGuarantee authority and enacted credit funding are established; the researched public OSC offerings are direct loans, not a verified guarantee application program. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Enumerated §4817(g)(1) defense supply-chain purposes; other purposes require essentiality/timeliness findings and 30-day report
Industrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds.
Purpose-limited supply-chain program, not general economic development
WIRE/IBAS program and assigned warranted contracting or agreements officer
Full conditions, roles & sources · IND-12
Instrument & legal basis
Use contracts, grants, cooperative agreements and other transactions; provide private-sector incentives to create, maintain, protect, expand or restore essential domestic industrial-base capabilities. Express eligible uses include workforce, facilities and production infrastructure.
Enumerated §4817(g)(1) defense supply-chain purposes; other purposes require essentiality/timeliness findings and 30-day report
No activity in the six covered countries under §4817(m)
Applicable approval and award instrument
Funding conditions
Industrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds.
Limits & exclusions
Purpose-limited supply-chain program, not general economic development
New authorities sunset Dec.31,2035
Assigned roles
Authority holder
Secretary of Defense; Fund control assigned by §4817(b) to USD(A&S) through named industrial-base office
Approval
Secretary of Defense or lawfully authorized delegate
Recorded execution
WIRE/IBAS program and assigned warranted contracting or agreements officer
Follow-through
Recorded executing role; this record-specific route is not an additional institutional office.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingRules recordedIndustrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRoles recordedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementRelated evidenceIBAS has named government execution offices and published consortium processes, including a current DIBC unsolicited-concept route. The 2025 expanded activities still require their separate fund-vintage and eligibility checks. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Enumerated §4817(g)(1) defense supply-chain purposes; other purposes require essentiality/timeliness findings and 30-day report
Industrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds.
This text expressly authorizes third-party investment awards; it does not expressly enumerate a general direct government equity portfolio
WIRE/IBAS program and assigned warranted contracting or agreements officer
Full conditions, roles & sources · IND-13
Instrument & legal basis
Make awards to intermediaries supporting investments in small/medium entities working in defense-interest areas that benefit DoD missions.
Enumerated §4817(g)(1) defense supply-chain purposes; other purposes require essentiality/timeliness findings and 30-day report
No activity in the six covered countries under §4817(m)
Applicable approval and award instrument
Funding conditions
Industrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds.
Limits & exclusions
Authority runs only for five years beginning Dec.18,2025
This text expressly authorizes third-party investment awards; it does not expressly enumerate a general direct government equity portfolio
Assigned roles
Authority holder
Secretary of Defense
Approval
Secretary of Defense or lawfully authorized delegate
Recorded execution
WIRE/IBAS program and assigned warranted contracting or agreements officer
Follow-through
Recorded executing role; this record-specific route is not an additional institutional office.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingRules recordedIndustrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRoles recordedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementProgram unverifiedA real industrial consortium accepts private-equity participants, but that is not evidence that the new third-party investment power has a selected intermediary, fund, or operating intake. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Enumerated §4817(g)(1) defense supply-chain purposes; other purposes require essentiality/timeliness findings and 30-day report
Industrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds.
Commitment term no more than 10 years
WIRE/IBAS program and assigned warranted contracting or agreements officer
Full conditions, roles & sources · IND-15
Instrument & legal basis
Make purchase commitments for federal use or resale, critical-mineral development, components, production capacity and dual-use technology transition.
Enumerated §4817(g)(1) defense supply-chain purposes; other purposes require essentiality/timeliness findings and 30-day report
No activity in the six covered countries under §4817(m)
Applicable approval and award instrument
Document terms, exposure and statutory above-market/anticipated-loss findings
Funding conditions
Industrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds.
Limits & exclusions
Commitment term no more than 10 years
New provisions sunset Dec.31,2035; contract survival/obligation mechanics need transaction review
Assigned roles
Authority holder
Secretary of Defense
Approval
Secretary of Defense or lawfully authorized delegate
Recorded execution
WIRE/IBAS program and assigned warranted contracting or agreements officer
Follow-through
Recorded executing role; this record-specific route is not an additional institutional office.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingRules recordedIndustrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRoles recordedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementRelated evidenceA recent closed WIRE mineral call demonstrates that offtake structures are contemplated, but its explicit purchase-commitment citation is DPA § 4533, not proof of an executed IBF § 4817(i) transaction. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Pilot supports military manufacturing or emerging defense/commercial technologies
No inferred appropriation or revolving authority; credit assistance requires credit-law analysis.
Express third-party equity support does not establish unlimited direct Treasury equity acquisition
WIRE/IBAS program and assigned warranted contracting or agreements officer
Full conditions, roles & sources · IND-18
Instrument & legal basis
An uncodified pilot expressly lists loans, guarantees, purchase commitments, cost-sharing and third-party awards supporting debt/equity investment in small/medium manufacturers.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingRules recordedNo inferred appropriation or revolving authority; credit assistance requires credit-law analysis. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRoles recordedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementProgram unverifiedThe pilot’s legal design and near-term termination are confirmed. Related IBAS/Cornerstone activity is real, but no public evidence tied a current credit or third-party equity product to this particular pilot. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Connect the investment to the technologies and assets described in §9025(c)(2).
§9025 does not specify a dedicated appropriation or available balance. Identify legally available funds and the fiscal conditions of the proposed action.
This is an express investment-funding duty, not merely coordination; the subsection does not specify an unrestricted direct-equity portfolio or particular financing instrument.
Office of Expanded Competition
Full conditions, roles & sources · OEC-03
Instrument & legal basis
Fund investments in the critical technologies and assets identified for the Joint Force, including supply-chain technologies not always supported through direct investment.
Connect the investment to the technologies and assets described in §9025(c)(2).
Identify the transaction form, applicable requirements, lawful funds, and authorized signatory before execution.
Funding conditions
§9025 does not specify a dedicated appropriation or available balance. Identify legally available funds and the fiscal conditions of the proposed action.
Limits & exclusions
This is an express investment-funding duty, not merely coordination; the subsection does not specify an unrestricted direct-equity portfolio or particular financing instrument.
No dedicated appropriation, available balance, or individual transaction delegation is established by this record.
Assigned roles
Authority holder
Office of Expanded Competition within the Office of the Secretary of the Air Force; headed by the OEC Director
Approval
Recorded execution
Office of Expanded Competition Director
Follow-through
Institutional routing from the recorded executing role. See the office profile for its published responsibilities and engagement routes.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingScope documented§9025 does not specify a dedicated appropriation or available balance. Identify legally available funds and the fiscal conditions of the proposed action. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRemit sourcedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementProgram unverifiedThe statute expressly includes funding investments. A standalone public OEC investment product, funding allocation and applicant process were not verified. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
The entity's investments must facilitate DoD efforts.
§9025 does not specify a dedicated appropriation or available balance. Identify legally available funds and the fiscal conditions of the proposed action.
Helping DoD provide assistance is not verification of an independently operating OEC direct-loan or guarantee program.
Office of Expanded Competition
Full conditions, roles & sources · OEC-06
Instrument & legal basis
Help DoD provide capital assistance to entities, including foreign entities, whose investments facilitate the Department's efforts. The statutory definition covers loans, loan guarantees and technical assistance.
The entity's investments must facilitate DoD efforts.
Confirm the underlying instrument's eligibility, funding, credit requirements and authorized executing office.
Funding conditions
§9025 does not specify a dedicated appropriation or available balance. Identify legally available funds and the fiscal conditions of the proposed action.
Limits & exclusions
Helping DoD provide assistance is not verification of an independently operating OEC direct-loan or guarantee program.
The capital-assistance definition does not establish unrestricted equity-purchase authority.
Assigned roles
Authority holder
Office of Expanded Competition within the Office of the Secretary of the Air Force; headed by the OEC Director
Approval
Recorded execution
Office of Expanded Competition Director
Follow-through
Institutional routing from the recorded executing role. See the office profile for its published responsibilities and engagement routes.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingScope documented§9025 does not specify a dedicated appropriation or available balance. Identify legally available funds and the fiscal conditions of the proposed action. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRemit sourcedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementProgram unverifiedThe statute directs OEC to help DoD provide loans, guarantees or technical assistance, including to foreign entities. It does not identify a standalone open OEC loan program. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
The President may authorize a guaranteeing procurement agency to guarantee private-institution loans supporting essential defense production and services.
Required findings on defense essentiality, private-credit availability, cost effectiveness, repayment/security and interest unless statutory emergency exception applies
Applicant security generally at least 20% of loan
Large-shortfall notice and wait requirements
For the FY26 DPA Purchases appropriation, enacted text permits Secretary of Defense obligation/expenditure as if delegated necessary DPA authorities; do not treat an Executive Order as the independent substantive grant. Transaction-specific nondelegable findings and credit limits still require review.
Funding conditions
Advance credit-cost budget authority and statutory loan-principal limitation required; ordinary procurement money is not automatically credit subsidy authority.
FY26 enacted DPA Purchases: $321.923M no-year. This is appropriated program amount, NOT verified remaining balance or automatic credit-principal ceiling.
Limits & exclusions
Not general banking authority; applies to identified defense shortfalls
Anti-Deficiency Act retained
Most DPA authorities expire December 11, 2026 under §4564 as amended by Pub. L. 119-103; §4558 is excepted.
Assigned roles
Authority holder
President; designated guaranteeing agency
Approval
President / authorized statutory delegate; nondelegable findings retained where applicable
Recorded execution
Assigned DPA Title III executing office and warranted contracting officer; current assignment must be verified
Follow-through
USD(A&S) and WIRE/IBAS program office is the routing lead; current assignment must be verified. The recorded DPA executing role remains distinct from the IBAS program.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingScale documentedAdvance credit-cost budget authority and statutory loan-principal limitation required; ordinary procurement money is not automatically credit subsidy authority. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRemit sourcedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementRelated evidenceA closed 2026 mineral call contemplated DPA guarantees. Separately, EO 14241 delegates mineral-specific DPA powers to DFC; an operating guarantee intake or completed guarantee under that delegation was not verified. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Private financing not otherwise available on reasonable terms
Apply §4532(b)(2) national-emergency findings as written
Aggregate shortfall threshold notification or valid waiver
For the FY26 DPA Purchases appropriation, enacted text permits Secretary of Defense obligation/expenditure as if delegated necessary DPA authorities; do not treat an Executive Order as the independent substantive grant. Transaction-specific nondelegable findings and credit limits still require review.
Funding conditions
Specific advance credit authority and Federal Credit Reform/appropriations treatment must be confirmed; §4532 retains the Anti-Deficiency Act.
FY26 enacted DPA Purchases: $321.923M no-year. This is appropriated program amount, NOT verified remaining balance or automatic credit-principal ceiling.
Limits & exclusions
Loan terms and repayment assessment required
Not equity or unrestricted corporate rescue
Most DPA authorities expire December 11, 2026 under §4564 as amended by Pub. L. 119-103; §4558 is excepted.
Assigned roles
Authority holder
President or authorized delegate
Approval
President / authorized statutory delegate; nondelegable findings retained where applicable
Recorded execution
Assigned DPA Title III executing office and warranted contracting officer; current assignment must be verified
Follow-through
USD(A&S) and WIRE/IBAS program office is the routing lead; current assignment must be verified. The recorded DPA executing role remains distinct from the IBAS program.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingScale documentedSpecific advance credit authority and Federal Credit Reform/appropriations treatment must be confirmed; §4532 retains the Anti-Deficiency Act. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRemit sourcedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementUse documentedA $410 million Resilience loan executed in 2023 documents historical DPA lending. Its pandemic sourcing closure does not negate the separate 2025 DFC mineral delegation; the latter’s current intake was not verified. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Purchase industrial resources or critical technology items for use or resale, encourage mining, and support production or technology transition; conditioned subsidies can sustain threatened high-cost domestic material sources.
Written essentiality, shortfall and cost-effectiveness determinations unless valid waiver
Shortfall notices, >$50M threshold requirements and authorization/waiver analysis
Above-market or anticipated-loss purchases require further findings
For the FY26 DPA Purchases appropriation, enacted text permits Secretary of Defense obligation/expenditure as if delegated necessary DPA authorities; do not treat an Executive Order as the independent substantive grant. Transaction-specific nondelegable findings and credit limits still require review.
Funding conditions
DPA Fund and advance appropriations; funds and allowable commitment liability must be present.
FY26 enacted DPA Purchases: $321.923M no-year. This is appropriated program amount, NOT verified remaining balance or automatic credit-principal ceiling.
Limits & exclusions
Commitments generally no more than 10 years
DPA domestic-source eligibility is not worldwide: U.S./Canada and conditioned Australia/U.K. rule for Title III
Most DPA authorities expire December 11, 2026 under §4564 as amended by Pub. L. 119-103; §4558 is excepted.
Assigned roles
Authority holder
President; duly delegated execution with reserved findings
Approval
President / authorized statutory delegate; nondelegable findings retained where applicable
Recorded execution
Assigned DPA Title III executing office and warranted contracting officer; current assignment must be verified
Follow-through
USD(A&S) and WIRE/IBAS program office is the routing lead; current assignment must be verified. The recorded DPA executing role remains distinct from the IBAS program.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingScale documentedDPA Fund and advance appropriations; funds and allowable commitment liability must be present. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRemit sourcedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementProcess sourcedPublic sources provide two concrete DPA execution processes and expressly identify purchase commitments, but the general FOA is suspended/expired and the 2026 mineral call is closed. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Eligible entity and covered dual-use technology, not solely defense application
Funding condition
Advance appropriations specifically providing credit assistance; Federal Credit Reform cost and DoD Credit Program Account. A headline lending ceiling is not cash available.
Provide loans for eligible investments in enumerated covered technology categories; the legal form is capital assistance, not an unrestricted equity fund.
Eligible entity and covered dual-use technology, not solely defense application
At least 80% nonfederal capital for the specific technology at investment time
Creditworthiness, reasonable repayment assurance and selection criteria
Funding conditions
Advance appropriations specifically providing credit assistance; Federal Credit Reform cost and DoD Credit Program Account. A headline lending ceiling is not cash available.
Enacted FY26 credit appropriation $97.770M no-year with $4.390B principal ceiling. FY25 reconciliation separately supplied $500M minerals-focused and $1B general capital-assistance funding through Sep.30,2029, each with $100B principal ceiling. These are statutory amounts, not remaining balances; do not simply add ceilings into deployable cash.
Limits & exclusions
New loans and technical-assistance authority expire Oct. 1, 2028
Direct-loan term up to 50 years
Treasury benchmark interest and nonsubordination rules have specific waivers
Assigned roles
Authority holder
Secretary of Defense acting through OSC Director
Approval
Secretary of Defense and OSC Director as specified in §149
Recorded execution
OSC Director and credit transaction team
Follow-through
Institutional routing from the recorded executing role. See the office profile for its published responsibilities and engagement routes.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingScale documentedAdvance appropriations specifically providing credit assistance; Federal Credit Reform cost and DoD Credit Program Account. A headline lending ceiling is not cash available. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRemit sourcedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementMixed program statusTwo distinct OSC direct-loan routes are documented: closed initial equipment intake and published NSFF fund-manager intake. SBICCT is a separate SBA-supported private-fund route. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Specific credit subsidy and principal authority in appropriations; DoD Credit Program Account and Federal Credit Reform Act.
Enacted FY26 credit appropriation $97.770M no-year with $4.390B principal ceiling. FY25 reconciliation separately supplied $500M minerals-focused and $1B general capital-assistance funding through Sep.30,2029, each with $100B principal ceiling. These are statutory amounts, not remaining balances; do not simply add ceilings into deployable cash.
Limits & exclusions
No new guarantees after Oct. 1, 2028 absent extension
§149(d) 80% rule is expressly written for direct-loan investments, not a blanket guarantee percentage rule
Guarantee is not purchase of stock
Assigned roles
Authority holder
OSC Director, within Secretary of Defense program authority
Approval
Secretary of Defense and OSC Director as specified in §149
Recorded execution
OSC Director and credit transaction team
Follow-through
Institutional routing from the recorded executing role. See the office profile for its published responsibilities and engagement routes.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingScale documentedSpecific credit subsidy and principal authority in appropriations; DoD Credit Program Account and Federal Credit Reform Act. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRemit sourcedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementIntake unverifiedGuarantee authority and enacted credit funding are established; the researched public OSC offerings are direct loans, not a verified guarantee application program. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Enumerated §4817(g)(1) defense supply-chain purposes; other purposes require essentiality/timeliness findings and 30-day report
Funding condition
Industrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds.
Hard limit
Purpose-limited supply-chain program, not general economic development
Routing lead
WIRE/IBAS program and assigned warranted contracting or agreements officer
Use contracts, grants, cooperative agreements and other transactions; provide private-sector incentives to create, maintain, protect, expand or restore essential domestic industrial-base capabilities. Express eligible uses include workforce, facilities and production infrastructure.
Enumerated §4817(g)(1) defense supply-chain purposes; other purposes require essentiality/timeliness findings and 30-day report
No activity in the six covered countries under §4817(m)
Applicable approval and award instrument
Funding conditions
Industrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds.
Limits & exclusions
Purpose-limited supply-chain program, not general economic development
New authorities sunset Dec.31,2035
Assigned roles
Authority holder
Secretary of Defense; Fund control assigned by §4817(b) to USD(A&S) through named industrial-base office
Approval
Secretary of Defense or lawfully authorized delegate
Recorded execution
WIRE/IBAS program and assigned warranted contracting or agreements officer
Follow-through
Recorded executing role; this record-specific route is not an additional institutional office.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingRules recordedIndustrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRoles recordedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementRelated evidenceIBAS has named government execution offices and published consortium processes, including a current DIBC unsolicited-concept route. The 2025 expanded activities still require their separate fund-vintage and eligibility checks. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Enumerated §4817(g)(1) defense supply-chain purposes; other purposes require essentiality/timeliness findings and 30-day report
Funding condition
Industrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds.
Hard limit
This text expressly authorizes third-party investment awards; it does not expressly enumerate a general direct government equity portfolio
Routing lead
WIRE/IBAS program and assigned warranted contracting or agreements officer
Enumerated §4817(g)(1) defense supply-chain purposes; other purposes require essentiality/timeliness findings and 30-day report
No activity in the six covered countries under §4817(m)
Applicable approval and award instrument
Funding conditions
Industrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds.
Limits & exclusions
Authority runs only for five years beginning Dec.18,2025
This text expressly authorizes third-party investment awards; it does not expressly enumerate a general direct government equity portfolio
Assigned roles
Authority holder
Secretary of Defense
Approval
Secretary of Defense or lawfully authorized delegate
Recorded execution
WIRE/IBAS program and assigned warranted contracting or agreements officer
Follow-through
Recorded executing role; this record-specific route is not an additional institutional office.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingRules recordedIndustrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRoles recordedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementProgram unverifiedA real industrial consortium accepts private-equity participants, but that is not evidence that the new third-party investment power has a selected intermediary, fund, or operating intake. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Enumerated §4817(g)(1) defense supply-chain purposes; other purposes require essentiality/timeliness findings and 30-day report
Funding condition
Industrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds.
Hard limit
Commitment term no more than 10 years
Routing lead
WIRE/IBAS program and assigned warranted contracting or agreements officer
Enumerated §4817(g)(1) defense supply-chain purposes; other purposes require essentiality/timeliness findings and 30-day report
No activity in the six covered countries under §4817(m)
Applicable approval and award instrument
Document terms, exposure and statutory above-market/anticipated-loss findings
Funding conditions
Industrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds.
Limits & exclusions
Commitment term no more than 10 years
New provisions sunset Dec.31,2035; contract survival/obligation mechanics need transaction review
Assigned roles
Authority holder
Secretary of Defense
Approval
Secretary of Defense or lawfully authorized delegate
Recorded execution
WIRE/IBAS program and assigned warranted contracting or agreements officer
Follow-through
Recorded executing role; this record-specific route is not an additional institutional office.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingRules recordedIndustrial Base Fund appropriations; Pub. L.119-60 §867(b) bars using funds made available BEFORE Dec.18,2025 for newly added §4817(g)–(j) activities. FY27 CR limitations independently apply to its funds. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRoles recordedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementRelated evidenceA recent closed WIRE mineral call demonstrates that offtake structures are contemplated, but its explicit purchase-commitment citation is DPA § 4533, not proof of an executed IBF § 4817(i) transaction. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
An uncodified pilot expressly lists loans, guarantees, purchase commitments, cost-sharing and third-party awards supporting debt/equity investment in small/medium manufacturers.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingRules recordedNo inferred appropriation or revolving authority; credit assistance requires credit-law analysis. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRoles recordedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementProgram unverifiedThe pilot’s legal design and near-term termination are confirmed. Related IBAS/Cornerstone activity is real, but no public evidence tied a current credit or third-party equity product to this particular pilot. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Connect the investment to the technologies and assets described in §9025(c)(2).
Funding condition
§9025 does not specify a dedicated appropriation or available balance. Identify legally available funds and the fiscal conditions of the proposed action.
Hard limit
This is an express investment-funding duty, not merely coordination; the subsection does not specify an unrestricted direct-equity portfolio or particular financing instrument.
Fund investments in the critical technologies and assets identified for the Joint Force, including supply-chain technologies not always supported through direct investment.
Connect the investment to the technologies and assets described in §9025(c)(2).
Identify the transaction form, applicable requirements, lawful funds, and authorized signatory before execution.
Funding conditions
§9025 does not specify a dedicated appropriation or available balance. Identify legally available funds and the fiscal conditions of the proposed action.
Limits & exclusions
This is an express investment-funding duty, not merely coordination; the subsection does not specify an unrestricted direct-equity portfolio or particular financing instrument.
No dedicated appropriation, available balance, or individual transaction delegation is established by this record.
Assigned roles
Authority holder
Office of Expanded Competition within the Office of the Secretary of the Air Force; headed by the OEC Director
Approval
Recorded execution
Office of Expanded Competition Director
Follow-through
Institutional routing from the recorded executing role. See the office profile for its published responsibilities and engagement routes.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingScope documented§9025 does not specify a dedicated appropriation or available balance. Identify legally available funds and the fiscal conditions of the proposed action. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRemit sourcedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementProgram unverifiedThe statute expressly includes funding investments. A standalone public OEC investment product, funding allocation and applicant process were not verified. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
The entity's investments must facilitate DoD efforts.
Funding condition
§9025 does not specify a dedicated appropriation or available balance. Identify legally available funds and the fiscal conditions of the proposed action.
Hard limit
Helping DoD provide assistance is not verification of an independently operating OEC direct-loan or guarantee program.
Help DoD provide capital assistance to entities, including foreign entities, whose investments facilitate the Department's efforts. The statutory definition covers loans, loan guarantees and technical assistance.
The entity's investments must facilitate DoD efforts.
Confirm the underlying instrument's eligibility, funding, credit requirements and authorized executing office.
Funding conditions
§9025 does not specify a dedicated appropriation or available balance. Identify legally available funds and the fiscal conditions of the proposed action.
Limits & exclusions
Helping DoD provide assistance is not verification of an independently operating OEC direct-loan or guarantee program.
The capital-assistance definition does not establish unrestricted equity-purchase authority.
Assigned roles
Authority holder
Office of Expanded Competition within the Office of the Secretary of the Air Force; headed by the OEC Director
Approval
Recorded execution
Office of Expanded Competition Director
Follow-through
Institutional routing from the recorded executing role. See the office profile for its published responsibilities and engagement routes.
Legal basisSources linkedLegal sources and instrument limits are recorded.
RequirementsGates recordedRead the requirements for this instrument; applicability depends on the proposed action.
Public fundingScope documented§9025 does not specify a dedicated appropriation or available balance. Identify legally available funds and the fiscal conditions of the proposed action. Office budget figures are separate institutional context, not an allocation to this instrument.
Assigned rolesRemit sourcedPublic sources describe institutional authority. The instrument identifies approval and execution roles; a specific signature remains transaction-dependent.
EngagementProgram unverifiedThe statute directs OEC to help DoD provide loans, guarantees or technical assistance, including to foreign entities. It does not identify a standalone open OEC loan program. Program check: 2026-10-04; see each route for intake status.
Public evidence describes the institution and instrument; it is not approval of an individual transaction.